Browse | News & Events | Ordering | UPP Blog | For Authors | For Instructors | Prizes | Rights & Permissions | About the Press | Support the Press | Contact Us
Drue Heinz Literature Prize

Books in this Series


Submitting for the Prize

University of Pittsburgh Press

The Drue Heinz Literature Prize was established in 1980 to encourage and support the writing and reading of short fiction. The first award was presented in 1981 to David Bosworth for The Death of Descartes, selected by Robert Penn Warren.  Over the past twenty-five years, some of the most accomplished writers in the English language have served as senior judges, including Raymond Carver, Joyce Carol Oates, Margaret Atwood, Russell Banks, Alice McDermott, John Edgar Wideman, Elizabeth Hardwick, Michael Chabon, and, most recently, Joan Didion.  They have selected the best collections from the hundreds of manuscripts submitted annually to receive a cash prize of $15,000 and publication by the University of Pittsburgh Press.  

The prize was endowed by the Drue Heinz Trust in 1995 to provide funds for the prize in perpetuity.  As one journalist wrote at the time, if the short story and novella are “stepchildren” in the world of literature, “then the Drue Heinz Literature Prize is a fairy godmother.” 






© 2018 University of Pittsburgh Press. All rights reserved.