browsenews and eventsordering informationfor authorsprizesfor instructorsrights and permissionsdigital editionsEBooksAuthor Videoabout the pressSupport the Presscontact us
Browse our Books
By Title
TitleAuthorDescription
Valley of DecisionMarcia DavenportPittsburgh author Marcia Davenport’s absorbing and complex chronicle of a family’s fortunes from the economic panic of 1873 through the dramatic rise of American industry and trade unionism, through waves of immigration, class conflict, natural disaster, World War I, to Pearl Harbor.
Vaquita and Other StoriesEdith PearlmanWinner of the 1996 Drue Heinz Literature Prize.

To author Edith Pearlman, "The stories in Vaquita aim at an intimacy between writer and reader. That imagined reader wants to know who loves whom, who drinks what, and, mostly, who answers to what summons. Thank Heavens for Spike Lee! Before his movies writers and critics had to natter about moral stances; now I can say with a more tripping tongue that my characters are people in peculiar circumstances, aching to Do The Right Thing if only they can figure out what The Right Thing is. If not, they’ll at least Do Their Own Right Thing Right."

Kindle eBook Available

Nook eBook Available

iPad eBook Available
Varieties of Marxist HumanismJames SatterwhiteSatterwhite analyzes the work of revisionist thinkers in four East European countries whose critique of the orthodox “official” Marxism laid the philosophical groundwork for the 1989-1990 upheavals in Eastern Europe and a reassessment of Marxist thought generally throughout the world.

View the Digital Edition
VelocityNancy KrygowskiWinner of the 2006 Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize Krygowski's poems--often sad, sometimes humorous, always generous--are lovingly grounded in the ordinary. They are thinking poems--tightly crafted, accessible inquiries more interested in exploring stark and complicated knowledge than in proclaiming it.

Read a press release about this book
View from a Temporary Window Joanie Mackowski“Joanie Mackowski's hypnotizing View from a Temporary Window is filled with Kafka-like transformations and metamorphoses and haunted by a sense of the body's strangeness. She writes in a relaxed and lucid manner that pays scrupulous attention to both the imaginary and the real, and to what is uncanny in each.”

—John L. Koethe

Read a press release about this book

Kindle eBook Available

Nook eBook Available

iPad eBook Available
View from the DivideLee GutkindIn the tradition of Lewis Thomas, Stephen J. Gould, and Oliver Sachs, this special double issue of Creative Nonfiction, the only exclusively nonfiction literary journal, demonstrates the many ways in which aspects of the scientific world—from biology, medicine, physics, and astronomy—can be captured and dramatized for a humanities-oriented readership.
Vigorous Core of Our NationalityStanley BlakeExplores conceptualizations of regional identity and a distinct population group known as nordestinos in northeastern Brazil during a crucial historical period. Beginning with the abolition of slavery and ending with the demise of the Estado Novo under Getúlio Vargas, Stanley E. Blake offers original perspectives on the paradoxical concept of the nordestino and the importance of these debates to the process of state and nation building.
Visions of AnnihilationRory YeomansThe Ustasha regime and its militias carried out a ruthless campaign of ethnic cleansing that killed an estimated half million Serbs, Jews, and Gypsies, and ended only with the defeat of the Axis powers in World War II. Yeomans analyzes the Ustasha movement’s use of culture to appeal to radical nationalist sentiments and legitimize its genocidal policies. He shows how the movement attempted to mobilize poets, novelists, filmmakers, visual artists, and intellectuals as purveyors of propaganda and visionaries of a utopian society. Yeomans chronicles the foundations of the movement, its key actors and ideologies, and reveals the unique conditions present in interwar Croatia that led to the rise of fascism.
Voces femeninas de HispanoaméricaGloria Bautista GutiérrezThis book presents in one volume a selection of the most representative, outstanding writing by Latin American women writers. Written entirely in Spanish, it is intended for third and fourth-year students.
Voices, Visions, and a New RealityJ. Ann DuncanThis book introduces to a larger audience the work of a group of Mexican writers whose work reflects the stimulus of the “boom” of the 1960s, especially in the experimental nueva novella. Duncan views the work of six writers in the context of more well known writers of the period (Ruflo, Fuentes, and Del Paso), and concludes with a chapter on other recent innovators in Mexican literature.

View the Digital Edition
volcano sequenceAlicia Suskin OstrikerBold, erotic, spiritual collection of poetry from a well-respected poet and critic, whose previous two books were both National Book Award finalists.

© 2014 University of Pittsburgh Press. All rights reserved.